PDA

View Full Version : Ries Tripod advice

B.S.Kumar
29-Sep-2010, 16:27
Would a Ries C600 support a Sinar X with a Betterlight scan back? Ries lists the maximum supported weight at 14 lbs, which is what the Sinar + Betterlight would weigh. I have a Slik GrandMaster CF and a Gitzo Studex, and use them with Manfrotto 405 or Sinar Pan Tilt heads. Both are extremely stable, but aren't very compact for travel. I've never used a wooden tripod before, so advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Kumar

John Kasaian
29-Sep-2010, 16:46
I use a Ries and love it---they are very conservative in their rating when it comes to wieght and they are very stable platforms---but I've never thought of them as being all that compact.

B.S.Kumar
29-Sep-2010, 17:00
This one folds up to 21", so reasonable, I think?

Kumar

R Mann
29-Sep-2010, 17:28
I have owned quite a few brands and like the Ries over all of them. Best features compared to a Gitzo is the ability to adjust each leg angle and the lock knob design works with gloves on. Once set up they are a solid as any tripod I have used, but I would also not call them compact. I prefer the one section legs over the two section legs, easier to set up and really not that much larger.

Drew Wiley
29-Sep-2010, 18:04
I don't have a scanning back, but have used a C100 Ries with a Sinar F2 for long
exposures, even with very long bellows extensions. Plenty solid, because you can balance the rail anywhere you wish. In extreme situations, two rails clamps were
mounted to a maple board, then this directly to the top of the tripod. Since the X
camera is quite a bit heavier, I'd simply ask the Ries people if you could test the
tripod out. They recently replaced a leg for free for my very heavily used bigger J tripod, and as far as I'm concerned, their service and warranty are simply great. Wooden tripods also inherently have the ability to dampen vibrations better than other materials.

Keith Pitman
29-Sep-2010, 18:29