PDA

View Full Version : Nikon 90mm f/8 + Wista Field 45dx. Recessed board? Need advice.

l2oBiN
28-Sep-2010, 14:59
I have been trying to battle with large movements on the wista field 45dx with the nikon 90mm f/8 and it appears if you want to have a good part of the foreground quite close in the image, and exaggerate it with back movements, then adjust the plane of focus with the front, the bellows gets very compressed.
I was thinking of placing the 90mm on a recessed board, however I have no experience with recessed boards.
How they would alter the use of the lens?
Would it improve the movements of the image?
Would it impede on the accessibility to the lens dials?
Would I need a special cable release? if so what type?
Also what would be considered the best compatible recessed lensboard? What kind of depth should be appropriate?

Mark Sampson
28-Sep-2010, 19:20
The tradeoff with a recessed board is that while the bellows move more freely, it then becomes difficult to operate the shutter and aperture. Often you'll need an angled cable-release adapter, not a big deal. I used a 4x5 Tachihara for some years, a camera very similar to your Wista; and I was able to use the 90/8 Nikkor-SW on a standard board without any trouble. Before that, I'd used an older Schneider 90/8 Super-Angulon on a Linhof recessed board- but a previous owner had put a spacer into the recessed board, making it less recessed. (I never knew if that was a factory mod or not) and they'd rigged up a bi-post flash attachment on the face of the board. It worked ok, for not being very recessed, and I traded the lens not for that but for the improved quality of the Nikkor. I digress, but the only way to know if the recessed boar works better is to try it. If you don't like it, you can then sell it here...

Doremus Scudder
29-Sep-2010, 07:14
I use a 90mm f/8 Schneider Super Angulon on a recessed board on my Wista DX.