PDA

View Full Version : How to frame a shot at night?

Trub
28-Sep-2010, 09:24
I'm new to LF but not to night photography. I went out this Saturday night and tried to shoot a large, well lit highway interchange here in Dallas, the High Five for you locals. When trying to frame the shot through my old 1947 Newton New Vue 4x5, I could not see enough to frame or focus the shot through the ground glass.

For those that shoot at night, how do you see through the GG?

Darin Boville
28-Sep-2010, 09:28
Option 1: Bring a small, LED flashlight under the darkcloth with you.

Option 2: Buy or rig up some sort of "sports finder" and don't use the groungglass at all.

--Darin

rdenney
28-Sep-2010, 09:39
As I recall, the Nue-View does not have a Fresnel to gather the off-axis light and aim it back at you. That might help, though you'll have to develop the details of how to attach it to the back of the ground glass. And there are brighter screens than that, though they are not cheap.

And how fast is the lens? How short? I love focusing my f/4.5 8-1/2" Paragon (which, coincidentally, was the only valuable thing I got out of my own long-ago purchase of a Newton Nue-View--I traded that camera in Austin back in the early 80's for something or other and did not mourn its departure). That focal length and aperture makes focusing easy, compared to, say, an f/9 process lens.

A bright laser pointer might help with focusing, but it won't help with composing.

In the end, you might have to make a wire-frame finder, using a rectangle of wire in the front and a peep-sight in the rear, with the distance between them set to provide the lens's field of view. Look for pictures of a Graflex to see examples of this concept.

Another option if you are patient is to set up the camera and compose and focus the image right before nightfall, and than have your dinner picnic while it gets dark.

Rick "whose night-time shots usually depended on luck" Denney

Gem Singer
28-Sep-2010, 09:53