PDA

View Full Version : Need Help 4x5

tfraccolaphoto
25-Sep-2010, 17:28
Hello,

If anyone out there can help me I am growing out of 35mm and looking into 4X5 or 6x6.
Witch format is perffered, and what will i need to get started any help would be awesome.!!!

David Aimone
25-Sep-2010, 18:11
I'm fairly new to this, and lots of people have helped me, so I'll be glad to answer questions. I bought a 4x5 Chamonix in April, and just purchased a 6x6cm medium format camera. Sheet film on the 4x5 and 120 roll film on the 6x6.

What did you want to know exactly???

Gem Singer
25-Sep-2010, 18:21
Since this is your first post, how about introducing yourself.

What is your your photographic experience level?

Are you interested in color or black and white imagery?

Do you process your own film?

Do you print in a darkroom?

These are a few of the things we need to know before we can make a recommendation.

Most of the folks on this forum have moved up from 35mm, to medium format, to large format.

jp
25-Sep-2010, 18:26
I'm liking 4x5 and 6x6 both right now. I tend to use 6x6 for B&W "candids" and people stuff. 4x5 for nature/landscape/experimental stuff.

tfraccolaphoto
25-Sep-2010, 19:47
I have been shooting film really trying to pay attenion and learn about it for the past 6 or 7 years. I was someones assistant who shot a little 4x5 here and there but moved pretty much to digital.I am more interested in color i do live in the middle of the rocky mountians. I do shoot black and white mostly in the winter tho because not to much color out here in the winter its pretty much WHITE. I process my own black and white film and print my own black and white hoping to get into color sooner than later. Thought about scanning my film. But i really want a 4x5 set up just not sure where to start.

ac12
25-Sep-2010, 20:48
If you can swing it, BOTH.
4x5 and 6x6 each has advantages and disadvantages.
Think of them as tools, use the right tool for the job.