PDA

View Full Version : Dektol Substitute

Pawlowski6132
22-Sep-2010, 07:21
I've developed this crazy reaction to the Metol in my Dektol. It even seems to permeate my gloves.

What would you guys recommend as a substitute?

thanx,

Joe

Merg Ross
22-Sep-2010, 07:36
Phenidone

EdWorkman
22-Sep-2010, 07:50
Phenidone based liquid concentrate developers are available from Freestyle and Photowarehouse. Dunno if they are completely Metol free.

David Michael Bigeleisen
22-Sep-2010, 07:51
I have been using Ilford Bromophen for quite a few years. A few days ago, I did a test in my darkroom with Bromophen and Dektol mixed and used exactly according to manufacturers' directions. Dektol had just the tiniest bit more contrast. But otherwise the results were nearly identical.

David

Eric Biggerstaff
22-Sep-2010, 08:09
Try Clayton P-20, it is a very nice paper developer in a liquid concentrate and is inexpensive as well.

Gem Singer
22-Sep-2010, 08:15
Most developers for paper are either a combination of phenidone and hydroquinone (PQ) or metol and hydroquinone (MQ).

Both phenidone and metol are low contrast developing agents. No need to use both of them in the same developer formulation.

The hydroquinone in the formula is the high contrast developing agent.

According to Steve Anchell, Ilford used phenidone in their formulas as a substitute for metol due to the increased number of people who had become allergic to metol.

I've been one of those people for over thirty years.

Bruce Watson
22-Sep-2010, 08:15