PDA

View Full Version : Panic attack!

torontogal
10-Sep-2010, 14:29
So yes I am a total newbie to LF and I am having a panic attack.

I just bought a Linhof V and while trying to open the blades I pushed to hard and the lens has moved counter clockwise about a half inch. (I didnt know that I had to push the little button as opposed to pushing it so the lens moved.) To make matters worse, a little pin, also about a half inch long fell on my lap! After looking at the camera I think this pin has come from the place to insert the cord for making the exposure.

I can't seem to get the lens to turn back into the correct position and where does the pin go?

Help!

GPS
10-Sep-2010, 15:01

I can't seem to get the lens to turn back into the correct position and where does the pin go?

To Marflex, I suppose...;)

aduncanson
10-Sep-2010, 15:18
Don't Panic!

Well at least not too much. Most large format lenses are mounted only by a retaining ring, with two opposing slots, spun onto the shutter on the back side of the lens board. When these rings are loose it is possible to spin the lens and it usually has no real consequences. You will probably want to find some kind of lens wrench (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/131992-USA/Rodenstock_260600.html) (there are other sources) to loosen and tighten these rings.

In the mean time it is often possible to spin the shutter backwards to loosen the ring, and then holding the ring as still as you can with one hand, re-tighten the shutter with the other. I will not recommend that you try to turn the ring by applying a screw driver to one or both of the slots because that is a great way to scratch up something that you will later wish was pristine.

Some lenses use a very small screw projecting out of the back of the shutter into a tiny hole drilled in the lens board. This keeps the shutter from turning even if the retaining ring is loose.