PDA

View Full Version : Honest Critiques Please!

KyledeC
9-Sep-2010, 16:18
Hello I want to hear some real honest critiques of my work. I am a student and I think that hearing some constructive criticisms will be beneficial to me and help me improve what I may need to.

Here is a link to my website:

http://www.kyledeclerckphotography.blogspot.com

And again please be honest. A critique from experienced photographers would really mean a lot to me.

Ken Lee
9-Sep-2010, 16:24
Looking at the b&w photos on my calibrated monitor, some appear to be under-exposed, and over-developed. Either that, or you tend towards a rather bold use of tones. Are you acquainted with either the Zone System or BTZS (Beyond the Zone System) methods ?

A photographer you might like a lot - who like you has an eye to strong tones and design - is Merg Ross (http://www.mergross.com/index.htm), an active member of this forum.

You might find it interesting to look at his work (http://www.mergross.com/portfolios.htm). Of course, strength is not the only element in his images: there is elegance, luminosity, mysterious depth, clarity, and more.

KyledeC
9-Sep-2010, 16:59
Thank you very much for your response! And I have studied the Zone System quit extensively. And I do like to create dramatic tones, but only when I believe it works for the image. And thank you for suggesting I view Merg Ross's work. Like you said it is very good, I like it very much! Again thank you for your response and advice!

Bruce Barlow
9-Sep-2010, 17:29
You're in love with foregrounds, and they aren't always working in your favor. Try, just to look, cropping some of your more pronounced examples to see if "less is more."

Yeah, there's an issue of tones, too. Careful letting you rocks go too light in some - it feels unnatural and distracts from the emotional core of the image.