PDA

View Full Version : Where did you get your LF camera from?

akyiia
9-Sep-2010, 02:13
Hello, I am a second year uni student but I do photography for over 12 years now; recently we were introduced to large format cameras and immediately I fell in love:) I thought I would buy one myself but I found them rather pricey. When I was looking for a cheaper choice I came across to a product called Buldog which is basically home made LF camera. But it seems that :cool: it is being sold without any lens so the question of the price is the same. I was just wondering where did you buy yours LF cameras..?? Perhaps you could give me a tip..Many Thanks..ant.

ki6mf
9-Sep-2010, 04:13
In the USA the best used gear site is www.keh.com. They ship internationally. I got my camera new from Badger Graphics.

Bruce Barlow
9-Sep-2010, 04:30
Baby Wista - Zone VI in 1984. Norma - the sadly defunct ProCam in White River Junction, VT. Alice - directly from Richard Ritter Manufacturing's World Wide Districution Center in White River Junction, VT.

mikebarger
9-Sep-2010, 05:32
Sinar F from closing studio
Zone VI field from Ebay

Mike

venchka
9-Sep-2010, 05:57
Individuals. In their homes. Person to person.
You don't need to spend a lot of money. My first kit was a Speed Graphic, Kodak Ektar 127mm lens (stunningly sharp), 5 4x5 holders & 200mm Voigtlander lens for $100.

John Powers
9-Sep-2010, 06:18
Interesting question. I was in college, 45 years after I graduated the first time. I was there as a retired person taking a view camera course in his late 60s when I bought my first LF camera. I had wanted one since I was in college the first time, 1959-1964, studying architectural history.

4x5 Linhof Technikardan, eBay from Scotland to Bath, Ohio USA
8x10 Phillips, eBay from the estate of a man in Louisville, Kentucky to Ohio
8x10 Sinar P, eBay from a closing California studio to Ohio
7x17 Phillips, A friend knew I wanted the camera model that a friend of his wanted to sell, Texas to Ohio