PDA

View Full Version : Using the 8x10 2D in cold weather

Robert Vigurs
1-Sep-2010, 18:16
Got up 2 hours before dawn. Four film holders loaded with out of date Arista 125(UK). Drove from Panther Meadows to the end of the pavement, Mount Shasta, Monday morning. Set up the 2D. Once under the dark cloth, wiped off my breath condensation, focused, waited for the first light of dawn. It was cool at 8k feet. Hmmm, meter says(shooting at asa 64) 4 seconds at f45. Going to have to count this out. First light, beautiful morning, clouds about the peak. Shoot. Good. Light is changing, and I'm new to 8x10, so I'll make another exposure. Here is my problem. My hands were so cold, I could barely remove the film holder. Put my hands under my pits, and OK. Made two more shots as the light changed, wanting to experiment with N+, N- back in the darkroom. Seriously, my hands were so cold, I considered using my teeth to pull the holder out, after the 3rd exposure. So what's the deal. Do you pros wear neoprene gloves in the mountains? I want to shoot at Mt. Whitney soon, and I'm going to need some type of gloves. Any input appreciated. In my primitive darkroom today, it was hot. I had to go with 4.5 minutes with HC-110, instead of six. Nice exposures though. Learning is good. I thank you in advance for any input here. Robert

BetterSense
1-Sep-2010, 18:44
Cold? What is this "cold" sensation that you speak of? I think we had that in Texas once.

I sold my 2D due to lack of space and funds. I know that in the future I will want it back.

Richard Rankin
1-Sep-2010, 20:32
Try some HotSnapZ. Both my daughter and I use them and everyone I know who has tried one, orders some...

Cheers,
Richard

Vaughn
1-Sep-2010, 21:21
Photographing in 18 to 20F weather, I tend to use one mitten, and keep the other hand in my pocket of my wool overpants. As I need to, I switch which hand wears the mitten (which is why a mitten is better than a glove.

Vaughn

ki6mf
2-Sep-2010, 03:45