PDA

View Full Version : Grafmatic - Worth trying?

Scott --
30-Aug-2010, 05:38
Hi, all -

I'm resurrecting the Neretta, a 4x5 hyperfocal camera I built (http://www.flickr.com/photos/scott--/2072499182/) a while back. Been parted out almost completely; new parts should be arriving starting tomorrow.

Anyway, carrying several holders for a P&S 4x5 was always a drag, but I have zero experience with Grafmatics. On the surface, they seem like they'd be a great advantage. I've read mixed reviews, though.

So I ask: Is a Grafmatic worth the investment for such a camera? How finicky are these things actually?

Thanks,
Scott

Fotoguy20d
30-Aug-2010, 05:56
Absolutely, and not at all (based on the six I have).

I was out hiking yesterday with my calumet wood-field and two grafmatics (one with hp5 and one with delta 100). This was my first time using the wood-field, and I discovered that the grafmatics were a snug fit in it (width not thickness) or maybe I just need to wax up the wood so they slide more easily. Not a problem at all with any of my graflok back equipped cameras. I really don't find them finicky. They're easy to load (from experience, arista ortho-lith tends to fall out and get crushed because its too thin for the septums) and very easy to use. Like everything else of that vintage, make sure you get one in good shape, with six straight, clean septums.

Dan

Allen in Montreal
30-Aug-2010, 06:19
I agree with the above.
I love them and have several too.

Bill_1856
30-Aug-2010, 06:33
I love mine. They weigh one pound.

Emmanuel BIGLER
30-Aug-2010, 06:42
I am another happy user of the Grafmatic.
A few months ago I used for the first time one I had had in my collection for a few years.. shame on me, originally I was intrigued by the object itself and after understanding how it worked, I neglected to use it.
The first time I loaded it I had no failure and all shots were good.