PDA

View Full Version : Fujinon Lenses: How good are they?

Irving Greines
21-Dec-1998, 02:08
I am new to large format photography and plan to buy a lens or two used. I have observed that Rodenstock, Schneider and Nikon seem to be the most widely availa ble lenses in this country. I have heard from a few sources, however, that Fuji non lenses are every bit as good as the big three, but simply have not enjoyed w idespread distribution in the U.S.

I'd appreciate input on the quality of Fujinon large format lenses, as I have an opportunity to buy a used one in excellent shape at what appears to be a relati vely low price. I am particularly interested in either the 125/5.6 or the 135/5 .6.

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Mike Long
21-Dec-1998, 02:12
While I haven't had the two you are considering, I have owned the 125 F8 and sti ll own the 250 F6.3. Both are very sharp with excellent contrast. If you look throughout the Fuji line, you'll find some pretty good lenses in all formats.

Mik

Ellis Vener
21-Dec-1998, 15:36
I have a slightly older (late seventies, early eigthies) version of the 150mm f/ 5.6 and am happy with it for both color and B&W work. it will cover 6x17 with so me movement.

Badger Graphics (1.800.558.5350, ask for Jeff) and The F-Stops Here (1.805.898.8800 or http://www.fstop.com or thefstop@IX.netcom.com) have new Fuj inon on a semi-regular basis.

Patrick Raymore
21-Dec-1998, 16:12
Fujinon lenses are less common because there is no official distributorship within the USA.

Fuji makes large format lenses that is as good as any. Their lenses have visual and physical characteristics that are distinctly Fujinon. Only you can assess if these lenses are right for you. Many of the visual characteristics are subtle enough that a beginner may not notice. After using a great number of lenses from different manufacturers you will begin to detect these characteristics, some of which you will learn to hate, and some you will learn to love.