PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice on first lens or lenses

photoncapture
28-Aug-2010, 09:01
I am very new to LF format and looking into buying either an Ebony RW45 or the Chamonix 45N-2. I plan on using the camera mostly for landscape and secondly for architecture.

I am trying to be sensible and therefore looking to put more money towards getting the best glass at a reasonable price and settling for a decent starter camera. Total budget is about $3500.

I have read threads on this forum and searched online for reviews concluding that I would like to concentrate on Rodenstock and Schneider lenses. The question now is which lens to start with considering my favored focal length range, in both 35mm and medium format, lies between 24 and 70mm (in 35m equivalents)?

Ron Marshall
28-Aug-2010, 09:12
Any multicoated lens from Nikon, Fuji, Schneider, Rodenstock will be fine.

Don't buy new. Good deals used on this forum or KEH Camera Brokers or Midwest Photo.

My kit is Nikon 90mm f8, Rodenstock 135mm f5.6 and Nikon 200mm f8.

That 90 has a large image circle, permitting ample movements, but being only f8 is a lighter design. There is an f4.5 model, with the same IC but much heavier.

A49
28-Aug-2010, 11:35
Any multicoated lens from Nikon, Fuji, Schneider, Rodenstock will be fine.

If you would take buying used lenses into consideration, I think also the single coated lenses from these manufacturers do the job, especially, if you want to process the negatives yourself or if you want to scan the negatives (hybrid working). If there should be a minimal loss in contrast due to the only single coating then you can raise it in the processing thereafter.