PDA

View Full Version : Super-Angulon 90 f/8 vs Super-Symmar 80XL (and 110 XL)

Rafal Lukawiecki
26-Aug-2010, 09:45
Dear All

Having spent the last few days searching the archives here and on other forums and having had a long and close look at MTF and relative illumination diagrams, I am still not sure if it makes much sense for me to replace my SA 90 f/8 with a SS 80XL.

Why would I be thinking of doing that? I shoot mostly landscape with Ebony SV45TE with which I have travelled extensively and backpacked over the last 10 years. I shoot mostly B&W (which I have been doing for the last 30 years) with a very occasional colour.

My lenses are 90 SA f/8, 150 Apo-Sironar-S, 210 Apo-Symmar, and 300 Nikkor-M. I tend to use all of them. The 210 and 90 perhaps got more action because I got them when I started my LF adventure in 2001 whilst the other two joined me only three years ago.

Recently I felt I would like to have more choice on the wider end as on my upcoming trip I will take more closer pictures of curvy weathered rock. :) So my revamp of the wider end started first with a desire for a SS 110 XL. But then I thought, well, perhaps the 80 XL would be a nice replacement for the 90, spacing it further from the 110 yet also smaller and lighter than the 90. So I looked through the resources, and for all I can understand from MTF diagrams at infinity at f/22 the performance of my old SA 8/90 is awfully similar to the 80 XL. Would the focussing brightness of 80 be much better (90 is not great)? Then some say the fall-off of 80 is worse. And so on... Choice can be an ugly thing.

What about the more subjective opinion of those of you who have experienced those lenses? Above all, does it make sense to be replacing the pretty good 90 f/8 with the 80 XL? Would I be missing anything about my old SA 90 f/8? Should I just save my money? For what it is worth, I have never felt I needed to use a CF with the 90.