PDA

View Full Version : First Camera Buying Advice?

Sam N
25-Aug-2010, 16:49
I'm a complete noob to LF and I'm about to start a photography course that requires a 4x5 view camera. I've read up about the cameras quite a bit (including this guide (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/matos-begin.html), but I have no idea what to get or where to get it.

I have several options right now:

1) Rent a Toyo 45G (or GII) with a 210mm lens for about $600
I'd rather not do this because I'd still need to buy most of the other accessories (holders, etc.) and I'd end up with no camera at the end of the courses.

2) A Toyo-Omega 45D from Craigslist with a couple of Geronar (lower end?) lenses and pretty much everything else I'd need (film holders, polaroid back, filters, case, etc.) for $600.
One of the rear tilt tightening mechanisms is broken, but the one on the other side works fine. I'm not sure if this will make it hard to keep the standards parallel or if it will be ok. Either way, I doubt it will be easy to repair since it's such an old camera.
The Geronars apparently have smaller image circles than the higher end / faster lenses. The 45D also does not have a removable bellows.

3) Some kind of a setup from KEH?
A Cambo Legend seems like it would do well and they're under $300. Another few hundred for a 180 or 210mm lens, lensboard, holders, etc. I have no idea what kinds of lenses I should be getting or which boards fit which cameras / lenses.

4) Try eBay?

Any help would be appreciated.

Brian Stein
25-Aug-2010, 17:56
You are right about option 1. If you like LF you have the camera, if you dont you should be able to recoup most of your cost.