PDA

View Full Version : Starting 4x5. Need your recommendation for BW Film and Processing.

l2oBiN
24-Aug-2010, 15:05
I am just starting 4x5. I do not have any experience in developing BW or for that matter which BW Film I should buy. I really need your recommendations/tips and insight into how to setup/start.

Ideally I would like

FILM

BW film that produces the maximum image quality for big (40" +) enlargements (which are going to be done through digital scanning of the negative with subsequent printing)

Since I am new to LF, and film, a bonus would be that the film is tolerant to missing the exposure.

Easy to develop

Also the cheaper the better

PROCESSING

Since I am totally new, I dont know what is the best/easiest processing for a beginner (Obviously it would depend on film to a certain extent?)

I would like to do it in light if possible, but it should be

as cheap as possible, easy to do (For a beginner),

easily setup in a small bathroom and not use toxic substances (because
people will sill use the bathroom).

Thank you in advance.

Lachlan 717
24-Aug-2010, 15:44
Second question answered first: A Jobo rotary processor. Easy, exacting and daylight.

Now for the first: You'll get many answer to this, but I would start by working out what sort of shooting you'll be doing. Are you going to be shooting in controlled light? Portraits? Landscapes?

If landscapes, open/full light? Forest scenes? If you are going to be shooting in dim light, do some research into reciprocity failure. A film that is not affected by this failure until much longer exposures will be a better film to learn exposure on without getting too technical.