PDA

View Full Version : New to LF photography ~ any help appreciated!

jodiechapman
16-Aug-2010, 04:31
Hi there,

I am a photographer who has just taken the plunge and bought myself a large format camera from the 1890s. The camera is very old and therefore does not come with a manual :) I am pretty sure it is a 4x5 camera. It comes with an amazing lens that stops down to 5.6 - the guy I bought it from (trustworthy dealer) said it is an incredible lens that is worth hundreds of pounds in itself. The camera also comes with an original oak tripod.

I am totally new to this field of photography. I am a pro photographer who does mainly weddings and portraits. All my pro work is digital, but I use a 1950s Rolleiflex, Nikon f90X, polaroid sx-70 etc for personal work, so am aware of the workings of a camera. LF is totally new to me however.

I am looking to get myself booked on a course in London so that I can learn it a little better, but I was wondering if anyone had any tips/advice out there on what else I can do to get to know this craft? I'm well aware it will be a steep learning curve, but that makes it all the more exciting for me and I am well up for the challenge.

Thanks so much everyone.

Going to try and post a few images of the camera to see if that helps...

Mark Woods
16-Aug-2010, 08:09
Welcome aboard!

I suggest you go to the home page and read all of the articles and use the links QT has set up for us. Great resources with easy access.

aduncanson
16-Aug-2010, 08:39
You will need to confirm that is is a 4x5 camera. The easiest way might be to find a 4x5 ("5x4" in England) film holder ("double dark slide" in England) and see how it fits. I would try to borrow one, or do this at a shop rather than buy the film holder, because I suspect that it might not be the right thing for your camera. At that age, it might well be a plate camera.