PDA

View Full Version : What is wrong

Steve33
14-Aug-2010, 13:43
Hi,

Newbie seeking your help. Took my Chamonix, shot couple of sheets. I get this result. Is it a film flatness issue or I am not careful enough when I close the film holder once I took the picture? How can I avoid this kind of results? Thanks. Steve

Brian Ellis
14-Aug-2010, 13:49
It doesn't look like a film flatness problem, that would cause things to look out of focus but that isn't your problem. Looks more like light coming in from the base of the holder (since the film was reversed in the camera). Is it possible that you didn't have the holder seated properly in the camera? I don't know, I'm not very good at diagnosing these kinds of things but that would be my best guess. Is this the only image that had the problem?

Merg Ross
14-Aug-2010, 13:59
My guess is that the holder was not covered with a darkcloth when the darkslide was pulled and reinserted. A very good habit is to cover the groundhlass and holder in such cases. The fogging most likely resulted on reinseretion of the darkslide.

MIke Sherck
14-Aug-2010, 16:18
In the past I have had negatives look like that when the film holder was not completely seated into the camera's film back. If you look closely at the end of the holder with the flaps (opposite the end with the dark slide,) you'll see a slight ridge running across the holder. This is a light trap, which fits into a corresponding trough in the back of the camera, when you slide the film holder under the ground glass. Sometimes it takes a little effort to get the film holder seated all the way; after you've inserted the holder, take a quick look at how it fits under the ground glass. In most cameras, it's pretty obvious that it isn't in all the way if that's the problem.