PDA

View Full Version : Alternative to Jobo Expert Drum & Film Trays

lilmsmaggie
11-Aug-2010, 11:14
I'm relatively new to LF. I was introduced to developing 4x5 negs using the Jobo Expert drum; however, trying to find these on the used market has not been fruitfull and the motor base agitators are even more difficult to find.

The Jobo Expert would have been key in addressing a space problem. I don't have the space for trays, or tanks. Even if I were to bite the bullet and buy a new Jobo drum, the motor bases are like really scarce. :(

Is there another alternative to the Jobo drum?

Brian Schall
11-Aug-2010, 12:28
I've used the Combi Plan tanks for developing. Some people like them, some hate them. I ended up with 3 outfits that I used as a modified dip and dunk line and it worked great. Fill all three tanks with solutions, load the film rack, insert in developer tank, put the lid on and turn on the lights and develop. Turn off lights, transfer rack to stop, transfer to fix and put lid back on and turn on lights. Really pretty easy. And 3 tanks don't take up more (or even less) space than the Jobo Expert drum, especially with the motor.

(Shameless plug: I have my tanks listed in the classifieds.)

Brian

nolindan
11-Aug-2010, 15:40
There are two bases on ebay right now: one Unicolor and one Ilford w/ a Cibachrome drum. And there are BTZS tubes - you can google for DIY instructions. And you can use a drum without a base - just roll it on the counter - or train the cat or dog to chase the drum around the basement floor. Tanks and hangers don't take up any more room than a base. Paterson orbital, various DIY sloshers...

I find the old spiral Jobo 4x5 reels work just as well as the expert system.

Robert Perrin
12-Aug-2010, 10:05
I've got a motor base that you're welcome to have. I'm right here in Elk Grove. If you'd like it let me know and I'll PM you my number and address.

Robert Perrin
12-Aug-2010, 10:08