PDA

View Full Version : Chamonix 45N1 and rodenstock 90mm 6.8

sbaruche
10-Aug-2010, 15:15
I am new to wide angle and large format
I just received my rodenstock 90mm 6,8
when I try to focus at infinity with below maximum compression front and back parallel I still have blurry image , I need to tilt the back and front to get a more compressed below and and then I can get a focus image on the gg
might be a dummy question
Do I miss anything ?
thanks

Sylvain

Mark Woods
10-Aug-2010, 15:30
Hello Sylvain,

On a "normal" design lens, the millimeter of the lens is based on infinity focus. So your 90mm lens is in focus at infinity when the center of the lens design (axially often near the center of the lens) is 90mm from the image plane. Your bellows may not allow the two standards to be that close. I use bag bellows with my 90mm lens on my Sinar 4x5 and it works great.

Hope this helps.

sbaruche
10-Aug-2010, 15:33
Thanks Mark
do you think a recessed board would help?
thanks
Sylvain

Oren Grad
10-Aug-2010, 15:41
Something doesn't sound right. Most compact 4x5 wood field cameras have no problem focusing a 90 to infinity. I just checked the Chamonix website, and the specification for the 45N1 indicates a minimum bellows draw of 45mm. Even if that's optimistic, it leaves plenty of room for the 94mm flange-to-film spec of the 90/6.8 Grandagon.

Are you able to post a snapshot of your camera set up with that lens?

sbaruche
10-Aug-2010, 15:52
THANKS
just found out I need to move the front backward and now if is OK , just found an image
you always learn by mistakes
thanks

sbaruche
10-Aug-2010, 15:54
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=39735

Lon Overacker
10-Aug-2010, 22:53
Sylvain,

I am certain there are threads on this forum that address this issue. It is a known issue and actually adressed in the release of the 45n-2 Please see the website at: