PDA

View Full Version : oh so new it hurts...help... 10x8 madness

newboybobby
9-Aug-2010, 14:08
Evening all..

I'm a snapper by trade up north in sunny scotland and am now diving in to large format for the first time...previously a 35mm/120mm boy.

I'm looking for some expert advice on what, when, where and how.....maybe why?

Bascially I want to shoot a portraits project on 8x10 or 10x8? (which is it?)....B/W...basic old school....outdoors...insitu portraits...i think..

I need a hardy 10x8 plate camera that is easy to use in the field and will with stand some serious use and abuse....outside...in rail, hail, snow, sea spray etc etc.
I also need a standard portrait lens for 10x8 to go with it....is that 300mm or 210mm....?

I've no idea really...of brand, style, make , model etc etc....as i said I'm so new it hurts. I've been all over t'internet to find a wealth of conflicting advice...so far i've worked out that i think i need a 10x8 field camera...with either of the above lenses..and some plates..or dark slides sorry...oh and a big tripod....some 10x8 film...some nuns nickers....a big wallet....strong shoulders....er....help

So answers on a post card please...

Thanks very much for all or any help!

Best wishes

Rob

Lachlan 717
9-Aug-2010, 14:32
Rob,

You'll find 300mm lenses that cover 8x10 easily and (relatively) cheap. In terms of their "magnification", they're roughly a normal lens.

On the other hand, 210mm for 8x10 are much harder to find, and will tend to be much more expensive. It is also a wide angle lens for 8x10.

Either lens will be large if you get it in f5.6 guise.

Why 8x10? It's a great format, but it is big. And the range of products (including range of films) seems not to be as wide.

Have you considered 4x5?

Steve Hamley
9-Aug-2010, 15:26
So you're going to shoot portraits outside in rain, hail, snow, and sea spray? When you find subjects that hold up and look good in these conditions, then worry about the gear!