PDA

View Full Version : print size

enrique
24-Apr-2002, 23:31
I have a 4x5 Omega D2 B&W enlarger with a 135mm lens and 4x5 condensor. I also have a condensor for medium format and a condensor for 35mm. When the enlarger head is fully raised the largest size print I can make is 11x14. Sometimes I wo uld like to print larger or crop an image, which would require a larger print si ze. Do I need a larger lens (150mm, 200mm...?). Thanks very much.

Ed Candland
25-Apr-2002, 00:59
I'm not an expert, but a shorter not longer lens would give you a bigger print size. I'm just not sure if going wider than 135 for 4x5 would work well or not.Depending on your darkroom set-up you could alway build some sort of removable base that could be droped lower so you can get more space between your enlarger lens and your paper.

Per Volquartz
25-Apr-2002, 01:03
Nope. You need to position the baseboard further away. One way to do that would be to wall mount your enlarger and have a repositionable baseboard placed on sliders below - inside a cabinet. That way you can work at normal height for most of your work and make 16X20 or larger prints when you see a need.

Thilo Schmid
25-Apr-2002, 02:58
Enrique,

I don't know the Omega D2, but 135mm is already the shortest lens for 4x5. However, if you really want to enlarge only a part of the image, a shorter Lens might help as long as you take a selection from the center of the image or you can move the negative carrier as required (which might be a problem at certain offsets). In this case you don't even have to change the condensors. But as Per has pointed out, the best way is to gain more distance between easel and head somehow.

Regards,

Wayne_6692
25-Apr-2002, 07:23