PDA

View Full Version : Attention Laserjet Fine Art Printer owners

lilmsmaggie
3-Aug-2010, 15:29
I have no experience making exhibition quality prints. I would like to have the ability to make my own 11X14 B&W and Color prints, possibly 16x20. I’ve read good and bad reports about Epson inkjet printers. Although Canon and HP have upped the ante, Epson seems to be the printer of choice for exhibition quality fine art prints. Not sure if the negative reports I’ve read about Epson are from those users that are technically challenged by printer setups and profiles, or just getting their hands on a bad printer. BTW - I’m shooting 4x5 and plan on having the negatives scanned.

What really concerns me, are reports of poor customer service from Epson technical support, or lack thereof based on my readings.

I’m considering investing in an inkjet photo printer and would like to hear from those that actually do most of their own print work. I’d like them to share their experiences with inkjet printers – negative or positive. And if they were to start anew, would they continue with the same printer or throw in the towel and outsource their printing.

Jim collum
3-Aug-2010, 15:40
i'm currently using an HP z3100, and *love* it. have had no problems with it at all. I usually print digital negatives, or b/w on baryta paper. These are exhibition grade prints. Before that, I had an Epson 7600, and also had no problems with that (with the exception that it would only print on either gloss or matte paper... to switch from on to another would cost up to $100 in ink... the HP has 12 ink cartridges...so no switching is necessary. The HP also has the ability to create it's own profiles, and to keep the color calibrated . As it stands, I'd stick with HP (not because Epson was bad, just that the HP works for me much better)

Greg Miller
3-Aug-2010, 16:13