PDA

View Full Version : What is it?

jstrpko
31-Jul-2010, 09:55
I am new to large format photography. I recently purchased a Century Studio camera that came with a massive lens. Carl Zeiss Jena Nr.293909 Triplet 1:5 F=70cm

I honeslty don't know what to do with the lens, it's larger than most of the cameras I've used. I'd like to take still shots and some portraits. I guess my question is: what is this lens? Does it have any value? I'm looking for an cost effective lens to replace it with, any suggestions? Thanks! - john

carverlux
31-Jul-2010, 10:05
I am new to large format photography. I recently purchased a Century Studio camera that came with a massive lens. Carl Zeiss Jena Nr.293909 Triplet 1:5 F=70cm

I honeslty don't know what to do with the lens, it's larger than most of the cameras I've used. I'd like to take still shots and some portraits. I guess my question is: what is this lens? Does it have any value? I'm looking for an cost effective lens to replace it with, any suggestions? Thanks! - john

John,

Looks like your lens was made around 1917. Carl Zeiss did not make many triplets at that time for photographic purposes as their focus was in promoting their Planar, Protar and Tessar lines. The most often seen application of Zeiss-branded Triplets were on projectors, not cameras.

In any case, it is very novel and not common. Does it have an aperture ring for adjusting the lens opening?

Carver

goamules
31-Jul-2010, 10:07
Nice camera and lens. While I'm not up on all Zeiss lenses, they were usually very good. Triplets are usually slightly soft, and very good for portraits. F5 is a very good speed, and a 700mm lens is extremely long and should be good for portraits. So...you have several "goods" there, why not just use the lens to start, and think about what you may want later?

jstrpko
31-Jul-2010, 10:29