PDA

View Full Version : Rollei/Adox Ortho 25 in high diluted developers

renes
26-Jul-2010, 11:18
I am going to try Rollei and Adox Ortho 25 (roll 120 film) and develop them in Rodinal 1:100 and HC-110 (1:119 or 1:79). I could not find suggested developing times, no at http://www.mironchuk.com/hc-110.html and http://www.covingtoninnovations.com/hc110/ as well.

Hope someone used these combos and can share with determined dev. times.

A49
25-Aug-2010, 17:42
Hello renes,

if ADOX Ortho 25 is the same as the Ortho 25 sheet film you can order from Fotoimpex in Berlin then I have some experience with it. I developed the Ortho 25 sheet film in Rodinal (the old ORWO type "R09") diluted 1+150 at 17.5 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes. The negative I got was a little too hard, therefore I had to print it with Y80 adjustment on the color head of my enlarger. I guess 1+150, 17.5 degrees and about 8 minutes would have been perfect or maybe I should have diluted the Rodinal 1+200.

I hope this helps. The Ortho 25 is an amazing film, very sharp and extreme fine grained, I think in this categories better than TMax 100, ACROS or Delta 100 or the other conventional low speed films. But I donīt know by now if the tonality is also that good. Maybe you test it and write about your impression.

Best regards,
Andreas

A49
26-Aug-2010, 02:50
Sorry, I forgot to mention that I exposed the film not at 25 ASA but at about 12 ASA and the negative still seemed a little underexposed.

renes
27-Aug-2010, 02:13
Hello renes,