PDA

View Full Version : using paper negs

David Woods
22-Jul-2010, 19:52
Hi
I am fairly new to LF and I have never used paper negs as a way of taking a picture, do you just load it as you would a normal neg, is there anything, I should do to make it turn out successful, I was thinking of using 5x7 Tetenal TT Vario RC?

Thanks

Mark Woods
22-Jul-2010, 19:55
Expose correctly? ;-)

Darryl Baird
22-Jul-2010, 20:55
exploit the variable contrast of the paper -- by using lower contrast filters (0-1) to overcome the ortho look and contrasty nature of printing paper

jnantz
22-Jul-2010, 23:12
be aware that your light meter may give you a false reading.
paper is sensitive to blue light and unless you use a blue filte
(sorry i dont know which blue ) your reading may be off.
also be aware that all paper isn't iso 6
some is slower and some is faster.

robert j fallis
23-Jul-2010, 01:45
I use Ilford multigrade with a pearl finish, this is what ilford recomend..as there is no water mark on the paper.. I expose as 4asa. then use the sunny 16 rule, and develop in a dilute paper developer at the moment its fotospeed, and with the development, I time it till the first full image appears and make this a quarter of the time e.g.if it takes 1min to appear. then full development would be 4 mins. have a look at Jim Galli's page for developing ortho film..it also applys to paper negs

regards
bob

David Woods
23-Jul-2010, 01:55
I use Ilford multigrade with a pearl finish, this is what ilford recomend..as there is no water mark on the paper.. I expose as 4asa. then use the sunny 16 rule, and develop in a dilute paper developer at the moment its fotospeed, and with the development, I time it till the first full image appears and make this a quarter of the time e.g.if it takes 1min to appear. then full development would be 4 mins. have a look at Jim Galli's page for developing ortho film..it also applys to paper negs

regards
bob

Thanks Robert