PDA

View Full Version : equipment needed for film processing

bob belangia
15-Dec-1998, 08:56
I am new to large format photography, and have just ordered a camera.I have expe rience with 35mm darkroom work, but have no knowledge regarding what equipment i s needed to process film and any other equipment needed for the remaining darkro om work. Any guidance will be appreciated.

mike rosenlof
15-Dec-1998, 11:44
There are several popular techniques for developing large format film, many of them require working in total darkness. A little poking around the archives of this forum should find most of them.

Open trays - total darkness, cheap, takes practice to avoid scratches, takes practice to get even development

Tanks and hangers - total darkness, medium cost, 1/2 gallon of each chemical, takes practice to get even development

BTZS tubes - mostly daylight, medium cost, low chemical use, usually very even development

Open tubes in trays - total darkness - low cost, medium chemical use, usually very even development

Daylight tanks HP Combi - medium cost, higher chemical volume, some love them, some hate them. Actually this love/hate is probably true for all of these methods.

Jobo - daylight, expensive, low chemical volume, usually very even development.

If you're working in total darkness, you'll need some kind of timer that's audible or glowing very dimly. I tune a short wave radio to WWV the time broadcast. The other equipment for the remaining darkroom work - a.k.a. printing is pretty much the same as for 35mm, just bigger.

doc
16-Dec-1998, 02:14