PDA

View Full Version : State of 8x10 film production now & future

PaulSchneider
5-Jul-2010, 06:03
Hi guys,

I'm new to the subject of large format photography and I'm just reading all I can on the matter before I take the plunge and buy lenses, camera etc.

I'm interested in 8x10 photography.

Now I just read that Fuji stopped production of 8x10 film ...

Can anybody make a quick assessment what the state of 8x10 slide film is in 2010 and if availability of 8x10 color film is in danger?

I wouldn't want to spend all the money on a camera system for which I can't get film anymore in 2012!

Kind regards

Paul

Sal Santamaura
5-Jul-2010, 07:27
...Now I just read that Fuji stopped production of 8x10 film...Read where?

Brian Ellis
5-Jul-2010, 07:35
Read where?

Maybe he's thinking of this?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/181504-REG/Fujifilm_14874655_RDP_III_8x10_10_Sheets.html

Which doesn't represent all 8x10 film.

John NYC
5-Jul-2010, 08:01
Well, I have not been able to find any Fuji color slide films lately (past several months) in 8x10 in New York. B&H has Fuji 160S color neg right now, and for a really good price. Fortunately, my favorite 8x10 films are from Kodak and still readily available from the big stores here in NYC: E100G for slide, Portra 160NC for negative. E100G is _very_ expensive now, about $108 for 10 sheets. Every once in a while Adorama or B&H will put it on sale though.

I have no doubt that one day color 8x10 will go away (E6 first probably), and it will become even more prohibitively expensive until then. That's too bad because unless digital imaging with 250 megapixels has become cheap by then, I'll probably gut it out for as long as it is available.