PDA

View Full Version : Need Help With An Arca Swiss

rohan hutchinson
24-Jun-2010, 00:25
Good evening, I need your help, I am seriously considering buying a new arca swiss 8x10 f-line compact.as i have been using a horseman 8x10 for a few years now, and need a lighter camera.
The problem is I am based in Australia and will have to purchase without having a look at one.
I need to know when the rail in compacted i believe it come with the 50cm, how long is it? I am needing to put it in a lowepro nature trekker or computrekker plus rolling.
I would love not to have to take the front standard off to pack it but am not sure. the bag is about 20cm deep give or take. alos if i need to take the front standard off is it quick to do like any other rail.
also if any one knows with the 360mm rodenstock 6.8 lens what is the minimum focal distance on a 30cm rail. as am considering buying one as well. if anyone has one of these cameras and puts it in there backpack can you take a photo for me to see how big it is packed away
cheers
rohan hutchinson

Emmanuel BIGLER
24-Jun-2010, 08:49
Hello from the other side of the planet !
(I actually live somewhat closer to the Arca Swiss European office than you: 5 minutes drive, not 20,000 km ;) )

Regarding the choice for a 8x10" Arca Swiss monorail camera, you have the F-classic with "collapsible" rail, I prefer the term "folding rail" like here
https://www.badgergraphic.com/store/images/products/18.jpg
And you have the same models with a telescopic rail, made of smaller rails sliding above another long rail, like here
https://www.badgergraphic.com/store/images/products/8.jpg

And you have the 8x10" misura which is the lightest of all 8x10" Arca Swiss monorail cameras. This model will be discussed later.

As far as F-classic, F-metric and Monolith cameras are concerned, you can refer to the Arca Swiss catalogue of year ~2000,
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/ARCA.pdf