PDA

View Full Version : Curt Bentzin Klapp Reflex - Shutter problem

bolas
20-Jun-2010, 15:43
Hello everyone,
This is my first post on this forum. I'm a newbie in LF photography with around a year of "field" experience. Some time ago i bought my second LF camera. It is Curt Bentzin Klapp Reflex, german 9x12cm camera probalby from the 20's of XX century. Overall shape is more than very good but the camera has one failure - the external shutter mounted in back panel is not working. It is a problem, cause in its contruction this Klapp Primar is quite original. I'm really interested in solving this problem but unfortunately i was unable to find any good material about this model. All i found is just few websites, few adverts from old press and that's it.

I joined this forum with hope to find here someone who know this type of camera and maybe will know how the original shutter looked like. All ideas, photos will be a great help ... ;)

p.s. sorry for my english, i know it could be better ...

bolas
20-Jun-2010, 15:49
Camera seems to be in a very good shape. I bought it with a leather case with 3 cassettes (1 still loaded with 2 glass plates), Agfa filters. Zeiss Tessar also is in a mint condition. Only problem is this shutter - which probably is missing - i mean this cloth/fabric part of the mechanism. Photos of course can still be done, but without using the shutter - only with moving the cap in a front of lens. It would be a pitty to not to fix this problem, cause the original shutter allowed speeds up to ... 1/1000 s (!). Really amazing as for the camera from circa 1920.

Steven Tribe
21-Jun-2010, 01:53
Welcome to the non-existant Bentzin owners club. I have the simple wood tailboard 13x18. But I also have a early Mentor 13x18 SLR with focal plane shutter as well as the Goerz ango.