PDA

View Full Version : How'd they used to do it?

Pawlowski6132
11-Jun-2010, 21:19
So, based on my self-taught technique, whenever I'm taking a picture with my Calumet 4s5, I get out my spot meter, meter, focus, adjust for bellows extention compenstation, decide on a filter, etc.

Then, develop appropriately (N+1, N-1, N, etc.), print etc.

Now, I just flipped through one of WeeGee's collections and began to wonder, what was technique from capture-to-prints like from 1930's to 1970's???

Did photographers really go through all that or, did they have really stream lined techniques???? Did they process their own fim? Did they print their own negatives? Did they use the zone system? Did they even use meters?????

Mark Sawyer
11-Jun-2010, 22:09
They knew their own tools and techniques. Weegee knew his flash. There wasn't much for flash meters at the time; he just learned what to expect, what worked, what didn't. The same for every good photographer in every age, learn the materials, the tools, the light.

Yes, Weegee developed his own negatives, and made his own prints.

Frank Petronio
11-Jun-2010, 23:09
WeeGee could set up and shoot in seconds. So could thousands of lesser-know photographers. And while most of their film got processed by rote, sometimes they would push or pull it for extreme lighting conditions. But this was always based on intuition and rules of thumb, not precise measurements.

It was only with the advent of Ansel Adams, deciding that he could make a steadier income from teaching than by doing, that he gave us the Zone System and spot meters and fancy development schemes. And even now, not that many people, most obviously the pros, follow the Zone System consistently -- the real zealots, for some reason, are advanced amateur photographers... with a lot of extra time and money.

Gordon Coale
12-Jun-2010, 00:24