PDA

View Full Version : Developing C-41 in Jobo CPE/CPA/CPP... Questions

mortensen
10-Jun-2010, 13:59
Hi

I've been developing Foma and FP4 for the last six months in a combi-plan tank. I'm currently developing a large volume of work... and it's a pain in that tank!

I will do a project in India in the fall, where I want to shoot 4x5 color. Lab prices in Denmark are hideously high and since it will be a large amount of negatives, I thought this would be a great excuse to get a color processor and do the work myself... but I have a few worries...

- Is it remarkably more difficult to do color processing than BW when using a temperature controlled processor? To see my 'current state', check this link:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3617863/Napoli_highrises02.jpg
(foma100, Caltar210, xtol 5:30min, straight out of an Imacon FT848, PS jpeg qlty 6)

- What would you suggest, a Jobo CPE 2 Plus, CPA 2 or CPP 2... not sure, what the differences are?

- I will buy the item used. Is there anything in particular, that I should look out for?
... for instance on this item: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270588113192&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_1280wt_1139

- Which drums do I need in order to develop 12 negatives at a time?

thanks in advance, everyone :)

georg s
10-Jun-2010, 15:19
I've developed a lot of C-41 (mainly 35mm and sometimes 120) with a CPE-2 and never had a problem. For handling the large drums needed for 12 4x5-sheets (Jobo Multitank 5 - #2551 with magnetic coupling for use without lift and #2553 with cog) a lift might be a good idea - I've never used one but it's recommended by Jobo.
The larger CPA-2 and CPP-2 are able to handle the Expert-drums and they use a more sophisticated temperature-control-system.
Hope this helps and please excuse my crude english, georg.

Robert Ley
10-Jun-2010, 17:00