PDA

View Full Version : Video Tripod Systems for Large Format

chrislittle
9-Jun-2010, 02:33
Hey,

I have just gotten into large format photography and I am looking at a tripod system for my Linhof Technikarden, mostly field work, wide angle landscape and portraiture.
I am actually a filmmaker and have been shooting video for many years, i currently have this tripod for my video work

http://www.dsvideo.tv/sachtler_2319.php

it has a payload of up to 6kg, (Its actually more) with decent legs (with spikes) and spreader.

Has anyone any experience using these kinds of tripods with large format cameras?

I am wondering about dampening qualities, stability and vibrations. I know it's heavy, but I am used to lugging it around by now along with around 25kg of video camera gear.

I could fork out money for a good geared head or monoball and decent set of wooden or CF legs, but i would rather not to be honest.

thanks,

Chris

Struan Gray
9-Jun-2010, 03:49
I don't think you'll find a better tripod and head than the Sachtler. In fact, that is exactly the setup I would buy if I had a thousand pounds lying about somewhere.

Helen Bach
9-Jun-2010, 04:26
As Struan says, it will make an excellent tripod for LF work. I have bowl adapters for my 75 mm Miller and 150 mm Ronford Baker and mount the camera directly onto the adapter. The bowl adapters (in combination with leg adjustments if necessary) give all the movement I require most of the time, so another head or the fluid head isn't necessary. That keeps the bottom of the camera very close to the top of the legs.

Best,
Helen

Link to Manfrotto 520BALLSH (http://www.manfrotto.com/Jahia/site/manfrotto/pid/3339) 75 mm bowl adapter. Fits all standard 75 mm bowls.

Kevin Thomas
9-Jun-2010, 04:41