PDA

View Full Version : Wet Plate Collodion Blank!

Heather Love
7-Jun-2010, 12:56
I am a beginner to the wet plate world. I have been dealing with all types of issues. Recently, I thought I had finally got it. Then, all my plates starting ending up blank. There is nothing at all on them. I am using an enlarger for the time being, until I get use to the process. I even took a wet plate, that I had just sensitized, out into the sun and nothing at all happened. Could it be my silver is ruined? :confused: :confused: :confused:

BarryS
7-Jun-2010, 13:10
Hi Heather-- Can you describe what you mean by "blank"? Are you using aluminum or glass plates? Is your aluminum plate black or completely creamy white? Is your glass plate clear or creamy white and opaque? After you sensitize your plates in the silver bath, what do they look like? Clear/black or creamy? Do you see any image form or change when you add the developer? How exactly are you doing your development?

eddie
7-Jun-2010, 13:23
it is most likely NOT your silver bath. i have flowed over 4000 square inches of plates in my 1.5 liter bath before i did any maintenance to it at all. the silver bath should be your last place to look at....IMO. it is the most expensive chemical so it is best not to mess with it till you are 145.99% sure it is the problem. (checking your SG is good to do as you go anyway)

tell us about your developer. can you post some of your good plates as well? how long do you put it in the silver bath?

tell us a bit more please

Heather Love
7-Jun-2010, 13:27
Hi Heather-- Can you describe what you mean by "blank"? Are you using aluminum or glass plates? Is your aluminum plate black or completely creamy white? Is your glass plate clear or creamy white and opaque? After you sensitize your plates in the silver bath, what do they look like? Clear/black or creamy? Do you see any image form or change when you add the developer? How exactly are you doing your development?