PDA

View Full Version : Fuji Acros Boxes

Eric J
6-Jun-2010, 16:15
I just started shooting 4x5 a few weeks ago using Fuji Acros. The first time that I loaded up some film holders, I was surprised to find that it only had two nested boxes, not the three that I had been expecting based on what I had read about sheet film boxes. I'm not concerned about the light tightness of the unopened film since the plastic seems pretty opaque, but I don't feel comfortable putting exposed film back into the box. This hasn't been a big deal so far, since I can develop the film straight out of the holders, but I am going on a trip shortly, and I'm not really sure how to get my exposed film back home. Am I justified in my distrust of these boxes, and if so, does anybody have any suggestions on how I should handle the situation? I'm almost considering trying to find some (relatively) cheap expired film of another emulsion and trashing it just for the boxes.

Richard K.
6-Jun-2010, 16:55
I wouldn't use just 2 boxes but maybe it's just me. Buy a box of Ilford or Kodak 4x5 (something that you will eventually use), put the foil or black plastic wrapped film into the cool cupboard until you het back, download your film into the empty triple nesting box all through your trip and when you return have it processed and the box returned. Refill the empty box with the original film. Repeat as needed.

BetterSense
6-Jun-2010, 19:08
I wouldn't put plain film in a 2-part box. Light could leak in too easily. I consider the IlfoDak 3-part boxen light-tight however. The cheap Arista film from Freestyle also comes in 2-part boxes and I rebox it in 3-part boxes so that I can put the exposed film back in the box.

Dirk Rösler
6-Jun-2010, 19:38
The "situation"? Wow, let me think. How about putting the exposed film into the silver film bag between the cards again and closing the box? For me this has so far helped in this "situation".

Lachlan 717
6-Jun-2010, 19:59