PDA

View Full Version : Wista offset lens panel

hmvmanuk
4-Jun-2010, 02:49
I've just acquired a second Wista lens panel and this one has the hole offset towards the bottom of the panel. Being a LF newbie I've not seen this before so I searched for topics on the subject on this forum but I'm still unclear about some things and hope that someone (Bob Salomon, maybe?) can help me.

I gather that the offset is to enable extra fall but I'm still unclear about centering the lens with an offset panel. I'm using a Wista DXII and my first lens panel (with a 135mm Symmar mounted) has the hole in the centre (going by the circular light trap on the back). When I set up the camera I align the red dots on the front standard to centre the lens on the gg. Presumably then, with the offset panel, I need to put in some extra rise to centre the lens?

I have been lent a Schneider Angulon 90mm f6.8 lens which I gather only just covers 4x5 so it seems to me that getting the lens centred on the film is critical. I will probably mount this lens on the panel with the non-offset hole but I just wanted to be sure that the alignment dots on the Wista DX are for a non-offset panel.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Gavin

Peter K
4-Jun-2010, 04:30
Gavin, Wista uses as many other cameras too Linhof Technika IV 4x5" lensboards or clones of this lensboard. In this lensboard the hole for the shutter goes offset through the circular light-trap.

To control the lens is centered push the front standard with the mounted lens toward the ground glass up the the rear lens nearly touches the gg. Now rise or lower the front standard up to the center of the rear lens meets the center of the gg. Look if the red dots are in-line now.

Peter

hmvmanuk
4-Jun-2010, 13:29