PDA

View Full Version : Flare, LF or lens problem?

engl
30-May-2010, 12:57
Im new to large format. Im hoping to use my Crown Graphic with a Fujinon NW 125/5.6 (multicoated) for some night time urban photography. After shooting the picture below, Im a bit concerned that including streetlights might lead to serious flare...

Are large format lenses in general more prone to flare than smaller format lenses? Is the problem this specific lens? Bright light sources in the frame should of course be avoided, but Ive not had problems like this before.

Gem Singer
30-May-2010, 13:49
Looks like multiple interior reflections of the aperture off of the surfaces of the lens elements.

Are you using any type of filter on the lens? If so, don't use one.

Use a lens hood, and make sure the lens elements are clean and free from defects.

I've never experienced flare like that, and I've used many large format lenses under similar circumstances.

engl
30-May-2010, 14:20
Looks like multiple interior reflections of the aperture off of the surfaces of the lens elements.

Are you using any type of filter on the lens? If so, don't use one.

Use a lens hood, and make sure the lens elements are clean and free from defects.

I've never experienced flare like that, and I've used many large format lenses under similar circumstances.

Thank you for your reply. I myself have not seen anything quite like this either. I did not use any filters at the time (I know they can cause issues). I did not use a hood, but Im pretty sure it would not have affected flare since the light sources are in the frame.

The lens elements are perfectly clean now, but there was a light mist when I took that photo, I wonder if there was possibly some water/condensation or something on the lens at the time? It sounds a bit far out...

georg s
30-May-2010, 14:56