PDA

View Full Version : A change between a Sinar F2 and a field camera..

charlie jay
28-May-2010, 04:58
Hi everyone,
I am a photography student in the UK and i shoot primarily large format.
I have been used to using a Sinar f from our camera store for nearly 2 years now and enjoyed it, so, in October i bought my own Sinar f2 all the way from the US!

Now, i am beginning to wonder why i have a camera that takes up a whole backpack when i could have one that does all i need for taking up 1/5 of the space! I thought i needed it for the flexibility and ridiculous movements but really, i don't need that many movements do i? Its a really nice camera but i only ever use it on long walks and it becomes a bit cumbersome!

The thought came to me when i saw my lecturer, Jem Southam, set up his 10x8 camera the other day. I realised i was carrying the same amount of bags as him but with only 1 camera, 1 lens, a few darkslides and a quickload holder! Something, i thought, was not right.

Basically i am on the search for the perfect(ish) camera for me. I am on a tight budget and don't really want to spend much more after selling my Sinar. Everyone raves about the Horseman 45FA and that maybe what i need but they seem to be really hard to find. The Chamonix 45-N2 also looks lovely and is really well priced so that is another option.

Lens-wise, i only really use a Fujinon CMW 150mm.

Does anyone have any suggestions/ advice for me?

Any help will be much appreciated! Especially if someone is after a lovely Sinar f2 in exchange for one of the cameras mentioned... haha.

Thanks,
Charlie

uhner
28-May-2010, 05:55
The cameras you mention are certainly more compact than a Sinar F2, but I can’t help wondering how you pack your gear… Unless you need to carry a lot of other equipment like overnight hiking gear, the bulk of a fairly light monorail should not be an issue.

But if you want to change you camera, my advice is to try the model in question before you decide.

IanG