PDA

View Full Version : Staining developers and scanning?

Scott --
25-May-2010, 11:47
Hi, all -

Ken Lee's superlative shot of his dog, summarily processed in divided Pyrocat-HD, has me wondering about trying the developer. I've never used any staining developers, opting instead for HC-110 as a standard soup. My workflow is analog-to-digital; my negatives are always scanned. With this in mind, is a staining developer worth trying?

Thanks,
Scott

Gem Singer
25-May-2010, 12:40
Yep!

Scott --
25-May-2010, 13:30
Yep!

Thanks, Gem. :p

Other than B&H, which claims a lead time of two to four weeks (!!!), where can you buy this stuff?

Jay DeFehr
25-May-2010, 13:38
Let me preface my remarks by admitting I'm no scanning expert; I scan my negs for archiving only, not for printing, and I do so with a very low end scanner. That said, I use both staining and non-staining developers, and I can find no clear advantage to either over the other, as far as scanning is concerned. Ken is a scanning expert, and I'm sure he could produce similarly excellent results if he used a non-staining 2-bath developer, like Stoeckler's, or if he added a few grams of sulfite to his Pyrocat to eliminate the staining property. Ken might have something more substantial to add to the conversation.

sanking
25-May-2010, 13:40
Thanks, Gem. :p

Other than B&H, which claims a lead time of two to four weeks (!!!), where can you buy this stuff?

In the US you can buy virtually all of the modern pyro staining developers in liquid kits at the Photographer's Formulary, and many of them at Bostick & Sullivan.

Sandy King

Ken Lee
25-May-2010, 14:08
In the photo in question (http://www.kennethleegallery.com/images/forum/img272.jpg), the key is divided developer.

See this thread (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=52913) for an excellent discussion among friends and fans.