PDA

View Full Version : new to 8x10 B&W processing-Help

Jon Paul
25-May-2010, 11:31
I am going to be getting a 8x10 field camera soon. I primarily shoot color transparencies, but have the inclination to shoot a bit of B&W film. Can someone share (with a beginner) exactly the equipment I will need (hopefully I can get it used) so that I can process my 8x10 sheet film? Also, chemical recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Jon

MIke Sherck
25-May-2010, 11:39
I have no experience with color so this is about b&W:

The simplest way to process b&w film, particularly in small volumes, is in trays. I process 8x10 b&w film in 8"x10" trays, plus a slightly larger, 11x14 or so Rubbermaid tub originally sold for washing dishes. There are four trays: water (pre-soak, to remove the pretty colored anti-reflection coating on the back of the film,) developer, stop, fix and the tub for washing. Recently I bought an 8"x10" print washer at an estate auction and now wash film in that: it's much more convenient. But the tub worked fine for many years.

There are those who say that you need a larger tray to avoid unwanted developing effects on the edges of the film, as the solutions swish around perhaps they give more agitation at the edges than elsewhere. If you are of this belief, substitute 11x14 trays for the 8x10 ones.

Edit: Sorry for the fixation on trays. Other equipment:

I mix Kodak's D-76 developer with distilled water in a one-gallon jug and then separate it into four one-quart photo chemical storage bottles, filling each to the brim with solution and capping tightly. This prevents air getting to the developer and oxidizing it, and greatly prolongs shelf life. Since one quart of D-76 has capacity for four sheets on 8x10 film, I try to process in multiples of four or nearly thereabouts. If I shoot one or two sheets, for example, they may wait a few days or a week until I shoot one or two more.