PDA

View Full Version : New here, gone film crazy

alex best
20-May-2010, 08:31
Hello,
I am an intermediate photographer from Arizona, started about six years ago using only digital cameras. Until recently that is. From the beginning my quest has been to make images that stand out in a unique way with high quality, sharp focus and subtle out of focus areas. My first cameras were Canon dslr's and I eventually used/bought/tested virtually every camera and lens in their arsenal before becoming dis-satisfied with overall image quality. Nikon units that I tested were no better and after a lot of searching and photo browsing I purchased a Hasselblad H3DII-22 and 500CM. These two camera systems finally gave my pictures a bit more punch and some of the qualities I was looking for, but something was still missing. I added a Leica M6 recently for something more discreet and portable, and while I like the unique quality of the images there was still something missing.
So I guess it's time to start thinking about large format, and my inclination is to go with 8x10. I already have more portable cameras when I need them and have really fallen in love with some of the giant slides, negatives and prints I've seen from this format.
Anyways, I joined this forum recently and have been lurking for a short while reading threads and viewing some of the pictures. I'll probably ask for advice from time to time and comment on various subjects, so wish me luck or try to talk me out of it.
Either way I think I'm hooked and there's no turning back now.

Alex

Ben Syverson
20-May-2010, 08:40
Welcome and good luck! You're quite wise to go straight to 8x10, especially since you already have high quality smaller gear.

memorris
20-May-2010, 08:42