PDA

View Full Version : Chamonix 45N-2

shibby4x5
18-May-2010, 16:17
Hey guys, this is my first post here!

I'm currently a college student studying photography in NY. I took my first 4x5 class and absolutely fell in love with the format, the camera, and the whole process. The camera I used was a cambo that the school provided, but now I'm left with nothing to use for the summer since classes are over.

A friend of mine just bought a Chamonix 45N-2 off someone online and showed it to me and now I'm considering buying one. My only problem is that I cant figure out where exactly to order it from..

Just as a secondary question: Does anyone have any other ideas for good 4x5 field cameras?

Thanks a bunch!!

-Shib

Eric James
18-May-2010, 16:34
The next batch will be ready in July. Here's the link to their English website. See the "Contact Us" link for Hugo's email address; he makes it very simply - the hardest part will be the wait.

http://www.chamonixviewcamera.com/

dsim
18-May-2010, 16:37
You can order from Hugo Zhang. His email: hugoz_2000@yahoo.com

shibby4x5
18-May-2010, 17:30
Batch? So is Chamonix like a small private company or something? I've never heard of them until maybe a week or two ago

Water Ouzel
18-May-2010, 18:07
Batch? So is Chamonix like a small private company or something? I've never heard of them until maybe a week or two ago

Get in line.

You're behind me. :D

Daniel_Buck
18-May-2010, 18:39

I don't know the size of the company, but they are relativly new I believe, within the past few years as far as I know. yes, they seem to send them out in batches, I guess that's just the way they have decided to make them.

If you like the design of the Chamonix, but need something quicker, you could probably look at a ShenHao, they have a model that is very similarly designed to the Chamonix & Phillips:

http://www.badgergraphic.com/store/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=2766

stevebrot
18-May-2010, 19:04