PDA

View Full Version : Advice / help on a Kodak Ektar f7'7 203mm

boogie
17-May-2010, 16:25
Hi;
I'm really new at LF and after reading many post (my head is now going crazy :eek: ), I decided to post this message so maybe any one here can help me.
I got a Kodak Ektar f7,7 203mm mounted on a flash supermatic shutter. Here are some pictures

Now the problem that I have is that the flash sync is not a PC flash sync (you can see what kind of sync is in the picture) and for what I learn in this forum this shutter is supposed to work with bulb flash and has a delay on speed. My question is that if there is an easy way of using something (an adapter, some kind of invent, anything...) to work with a flash light (x-sync), or I should by other lens :( to use it with flash sync.
And also and this is to satisfy my curiosity. I haven't figure out what is the little metal button used for (you can see it on the picture).

Thanks to all

Dan Fromm
17-May-2010, 16:57
The little button is for "press focus." Cock the shutter and fire it with the button depressed. The blades will open and stay open. Cock the shutter again and fire it again to close.

Your shutter doesn't seem to have a synchronizer cocking lever. Odd. Try hooking the bipost terminals to an electronic flash (use a butchered electric shaver cord or a proper one from Paramount), cock and fire the shutter, and see whether the flash fires which the shutter is fully open.

arkady n.
18-May-2010, 11:08
You can use any one of these cords to connect to your strobe : http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ntt=paramount+post+cord&N=0&InitialSearch=yes

I *think* you have to set your flash sync to "F".

Paul Metcalf
18-May-2010, 11:15
The little button is for "press focus." Cock the shutter and fire it with the button depressed. The blades will open and stay open. Cock the shutter again and fire it again to close.Well, I'll be d***ed, I can go home now, I learned something. It works! No more needing to set to "T" for focusing :)