PDA

View Full Version : How often do Copal shutters require CLA?

BennehBoy
16-May-2010, 08:29
I have a Schneider 165/8 SA in Copal #3 that I had CLA'd early last year - the slower speeds we sticking a little and the 1/4 second was near instantaneous.

I shot a few sheets this morning and noticed that the same issue had re-occured. Is this typical, or is it most likely that the tech who did the work did some kind of 'jury rig'?

I'm in the UK so there's not a massive dust issue where this thing gets used.

Thanks,

Ben

BrianShaw
16-May-2010, 09:00
No, it is not typical.

Frank Petronio
16-May-2010, 09:19
A CLA should last a couple of decades, I think.

Peter K
16-May-2010, 10:26
It depends on the enviroment the shutter is used and stored. Not only dust but also humidity and temperature.

Flea77
16-May-2010, 16:51
Granted I am no expert on this but the ones I have lasted many many years with reasonable accuracy. I would say you have another issue.

Allan

Daniel Stone
16-May-2010, 23:49
Personally, I'd recommend sending the shutter(shutter only, keep the lens cells at home with you, she only needs the shutter) to Carol Flutot out here in Cali,

I just got my #4 compound done for my summer's travels, she's a great person to deal with, and her prices are very reasonable. She works on Copals(00-3) no problem, and she's very upfront with problems that she feels it might be. send her an email(link below)

she and I had a nice 30min conversation about sticky shutters(of any sort), and she said that it is generally caused by "over-lubrication". This is generally done by technicians who have no idea what they're doing, or by amateurs who "think they know" how to do it, and put the wrong type/or too much of lube in the right/wrong places, leading to dirt/dust/grime getting into the lens. This then mixes with the lubricant(which is generally somewhat sticky/med-high viscosity anyhow) and causes the shutter to not work correctly.