PDA

View Full Version : phillips compact ii: worth it?

raizans
13-May-2010, 01:05
there's an unused phillips compact ii on ebay! a very desirable camera by all accounts, combining light weight and rigidity thanks to an ingenious design. contemporary photographers like alec soth and edward burtynsky are known to use them. during the last production run in 2006, they sold for $2920. this auction will end at $3500-5500 (i've been tracking prices for several years), probably even more.

i could still get it with some financial acrobatics, but i've never seen or handled one. the most common complaints are the short bellows draw, the odd method of rear swing, and the combined movements on the front standard. on the other hand, it has that front focus knob on the back of the camera.

if this camera was still being made today, and the economy was not so bad, would you still buy one if it cost $3500-5500? at the upper limit, it competes with things like the arca swiss f-classic, ebony rw810 and sv810, lotus rapid field, and gandolfi traditional. on the lower limit, there's the canham jmc810 and traditional, gandolfi variant, ritter, and chamonix. there are also a number of 8x10 cameras in the 2k price range: argentum explorator, wehman, tachihara, and shen hao. that's just if we're talking new.

my primary concern is ease of use, since we are mostly talking about field cameras. i know a sinar p, linhof, or toyo is going to wipe the floor with any field camera. i'd like to avoid finicky cameras, though. mike johnston said he "can't find a nice thing to say about the DLC," which isn't the same as the jmc810, but it still has the same gestalt. the phillips sounds like it might be finicky. do any owners find that to be true?

this camera only goes for sale once in a blue moon; i'd hate to kick myself in the butt later on for passing it up. on the other hand, it wouldn't be so nice if i should have gotten something else. :D

Steve Barber
13-May-2010, 03:04