PDA

View Full Version : Hi - need help with an E. Mazo (Paris) Large Format Camera - I'm new to all this ..

Allespach
11-May-2010, 11:06
Hi,

Glad I found you. I'm new to all this large format stuff ...

I found an E. Mazo (Paris) field camera with tripod at what seems a wonderful price. [see pic below]

As a photographer, I certainly want to use this - never worked with a large field camera before.

All the parts seem to be there - however, I am confused as to film holders, plates, raw film stock, etc.
(I see the ground glass plate on the back, lens on the front .... ) Seems to be in near perfect condition.
I have not measured it, but the back plate looks to be about 8x10 or larger.

Basically, I'm asking - HOW DO I GET THIS CAMERA WORKING?

Any information or resources you might be able to provide would be gratefully received,

Thanks/Regards,

David Allespach
Thessaloniki, Macedonia, Greece

Jim Graves
11-May-2010, 12:28
Here's a link to a good place to start ... the articles in this forum: Link (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/)

Steven Tribe
11-May-2010, 12:54
This looks like the popular European type travel camera which was made in the following standard sizes (cm) 13x18, 18x24 and 24x30. They were on offer as late as the 1930's. Size quoted is the glass plates/sheet film used in the back - it, more or less, corresponds to the dimensions of the ground glass back. I enclose a phot of a catalogue - it folds up nicely for transport. Note the central part of the base - the central part with the finger hole is pushed forward to lock the fixed fron standard when the camera is assembled. There is a variant where the rear standard can be turned through 90 degrees ( or rather taken off and remounted ) and the bellows turns in the front standard (seen on french cameras).

The wood can be either European Walnut or Mahogany. If you post more photos we can say more. The base interlocking parts are likely to be very stiff - so be careful!

Tim Meisburger