PDA

View Full Version : Newcomer Needs Advice

kingfisher
5-May-2010, 13:01
Hi everyone,
I'm completely new to LFP. I've joined the forum in the hope that I can gather enough information to buy my first camera. I'm from Ireland and as far as I can gather, there isn't much local information on the topic here. I'm looking for a capable but affordable 4 x 5 field camera. My primary subject matter will be landscapes and very long exposure pictures at night but it will be important to find a camera that can take good portraits with nice shallow depth of field also. These will be printed very large for exhibition.(1-2m maybe). Its been recommended I look into an Osaka 4 x 5 with two lenses..one for landscape and one for portrait??
If anyone would be kind enough to help me with this somewhat daunting task I would be most grateful. My budget is €1,000 - €1,500. I hope I can get a decent quality and capable camera with lens and any other accessories I need within this price range. If anyone has suggestions or information i would be delighted to hear from you....Cheers

ki6mf
5-May-2010, 14:10
In the USA the best deal is for a Shen Hao which new sells for $650-700 $US. A 135 or 150MM lens can be purchased for $250-300 $US. The other value is a Chamonix. I have a Shen Hao field camera and its well made, I am happy with it, and it has a large following world wide. The alternative is to find a used View Camera (with a rail). This option gives you a larger camera body however good used View Cameras can be as low as $150 US so can be very affordable!

Michael Roberts
5-May-2010, 14:41
You will find lots of advice on threads like this if you look long enough. A few diagnostic questions--
will you be shooting b&w or color? will you be developing your own film or relying on a lab? (labs are rapidly going out of business)

do you prefer a monorail or a field camera? Is weight/transportability a concern?

The least expensive options are: