PDA

View Full Version : Arca Swiss Discovery

Raven Garrow
6-Dec-1998, 22:00
Hi, Can anyone give me feedback on the Arca Swiss Discovery? I was thinking of the Canham, but realised I can't afford it. The Discovery is only 5 lbs., yaw free, levels in a good place, and other impressive features. Also, I have no experience with base tilts, so when I tilt the front standard f or depth of field focus, what does this do to my composition, and how do I get i t back? I appreciate any response. I just can't find the time right now to get to a cam era store, to check it out for myself.

Ellis Vener
7-Dec-1998, 13:38
Hi Raven, You should look at the static content for comments about the Arca Swiss 6x9 and Arca swiss 4x5 F-line cameras for general advice. Arca makes very fine equipment in general. My experience is with the 4x5 F-Line camera and I can tell you that it is rugged and a pleasure to use. The Discovery does some things slightly dif ferently than the F-Line but is still very close.

My experience with the front standard base tilt (with Arca Swiss, Sinar C and Ca nham DLC) is that doesn't really change the composition all that much, you just have to refocus and maybe a little rear rise. In any event the change wasn't eno ugh to bother me. You are shooting landscapes and still lifes, right? i understa nd your fear of base tilts but in some ways I find them easier to deal with than axis tilts. For still life work you will really like using a yaw free camera li ke the Discovery.

David Nash
7-Dec-1998, 14:52
Hi