PDA

View Full Version : Focusing Question

Ross Schuler
19-Feb-2002, 21:17
Hi I am very new to Large Format and I would like to know if I set my lens to F 4.5 and focus on the foregroung so it is sharp and then set my lens to F 32 to t ake the picture with some front tilt will the entire foreground and distant back ground be in focus in a landscape. I just ordered a copy of Simmons book to help me understand camera movements and focusing. Any help on this subject will be a ppreciated My lens is a 90mm 4.5 Ross

Steve Gangi
19-Feb-2002, 21:35
That is sort of what I do but not exactly. I focus and tilt with the lens wide open, and then I insert the film holder, stop down the lens and shoot. The details depend on your camera. If it uses base tilt, you use the little poem "focus far, tilt on near, then fiddle around till all is clear" or something like that. If your camera has axis tilt like mine, I focus at the center of the screen, and then slightly rack the focus back and forth while tilting until it's all sharp. Just remember, a little tilt goes a long way. Watch the ground glass, remember to lock down before inserting the film, and you'll be fine. It's faster to do it than to describe it. By the way, you won't necessarily need to use f32 all the time.

Douglas Gould
19-Feb-2002, 22:49
Ross,

I have Simmons' book, and have found it to be very well written and easy to understand. Your question will be answered in the book. I too am new to 4x5. I'm sure there are more thorough books, and more in- depth books, but as far as easy to read/understand, you'll be happy with this purchase.

He covers the movements of the camera and their effects/use quite thoroughly. I just read Adam's "The Camera", and ol' Ansel sure can go on about a subject. Simmon's gives you the same info in one third the pages.

So, I haven't answered your question, but help is on the way!

Doug Paramore
19-Feb-2002, 23:48