PDA

View Full Version : Keep the Fujinar or get the Wollensak lens repaired

cabbiinc
2-Apr-2010, 12:24
Hi all, this is my first posting here and I apologize for not participated before this post. I'm just hoping to get some opinions on these two lenses. I have very little experience with large format, but I'd like to remedy that. I have a 4x5 B&J press camera and a 4x5 Calumet monorail. My intended uses are architectural and landscape. Portrait would be nice but architectural is what I'd like to focus on most.

I took my Wollensak/Rapax 135mm lens into my local camera repair shop for a CLA. Slow speeds were.... glacial. He offers me a Fujinar-W, 150mm f/6.3-f/64, Seikosha-slv lens for just a bit more on a trade. Tells me to take it for a test drive and then decide. I have it, but the lens board on it is just ever so slightly too thick for my camera. I'll get that swopped for my old lens board tomorrow.

My question, is this Fujinar-W lens worth $150 on a trade in? The lens itself looks great. I'd say at least a 9, you don't even see any wear marks on the shutter blades, and when you look at the glass it's nice and clear. It's a nice looking lens in my limited experienced opinion. The repair on the 135mm would be just under $100.

Google didn't reveal anything for what I tried searching for.

Thanks in advance.
Dan

Vaughn
2-Apr-2010, 12:36
I think for your use (architecture), the 150mm would be a better lens -- based of the image circle (it would allow for more movements). The only trouble is that I am not familiar enough with the Fujinar-W 150/6.3 design to know for sure (I am more familiar with the Fujinon-W 150/5.6).

I have found no reference to a Fujinar-W 150/6.3. Only for the Fujinon-W 150/6.3 (which typically have less coverage than the 150/5.6).

Vaughn

Jason Greenberg Motamedi
2-Apr-2010, 12:39