PDA

View Full Version : Chamonix Reflex Viewer Alternatives

ultimatte
1-Apr-2010, 04:54
Hi!

Has anybody used another reflex viewer on the Chamonix 45n-x than the original one?
Do you recommend it?

Thanks a lot!

ultimatte
5-Apr-2010, 03:17
Really no one?! :(

I'd like to use the Horseman binocular reflex viewer, but I don't know if it fits:
I'm just a beginner...

Lars Daniel
7-Jul-2010, 01:30
Does anybody use reflex viewers? What are the pros and cons? Are there any 45 degrees reflex viewers? (Could not find any).
Obviously you can not use a loupe, but on the other hand that might not be necessary if the viewer is good.
Any input is welcome!

D. Bryant
7-Jul-2010, 03:37
Really no one?! :(

That should tell you something ...

wager123
7-Jul-2010, 03:55
i use a cambo T-20 on both my wisner and my ebony. here in the deep south in the summer it realy hot under a dark cloth and the reflex viewer works like a charm. several of my friends use them also.
mitch

shadowleaves
9-Jul-2010, 12:28
Does anybody use reflex viewers? What are the pros and cons? Are there any 45 degrees reflex viewers? (Could not find any).
Obviously you can not use a loupe, but on the other hand that might not be necessary if the viewer is good.
Any input is welcome!

They are bulky. I heard that Chamonix is working on a folding design, but don't know when it will be completed and released...

Many reflex viewers come with an integrated loupe around 3x.

As for 45-degree viewfinders, my guess is that a prism is necessary, which will make it insanely heavy - just think about a prism at that size...so possibly there won't be a 45-deg in the foreseeable future.

John Koehrer
9-Jul-2010, 14:49
Don't need a prism, just a front surface mirror. It wouldn't be that hard to cobble one up from 1/16" aircraft plywood. put a hinge along each edge that goes to the GG & you can fold it. Think in terms of a modified Graflex viewing hood

Emmanuel BIGLER
10-Jul-2010, 09:44
Hello from France !